The nervous system is an organ system containing a network of specialized cells called neurons that coordinate the actions of a human being and transmit signals between different parts of its body. The nervous system consists of two parts, central and peripheral. The central nervous system contains the brain, spinal cord, and retina. The peripheral nervous system consists of sensory neurons, clusters of neurons called ganglia, and nerves connecting them to each other and to the central nervous system.

Neuron– is the functional unit of the nervous system. Each connected at the synapse between axon (transmits message away from the neuron) and dendrite (transmits message towards the neuron.
Neurotransmitters– are chemical compounds which activate or inhibit such transmission.


Mental Status or LOC
Motor functions
Sensory functions
Cranial Nerves
The Glasgow Coma Scale

Is a tool used in assessing a patient’s response to stimuli. Scores range from 3 (deep coma) to 15 (normal), a score less than or equal to 8 indicates coma.

Eye-opening response

Spontaneously – 4 points
To speech – 3 points
To pain – 2 points
No response – 1 point
Verbal response

Oriented – 5 points
Confused – 4 points
Inappropriate words – 3 points
Incomprehensible sounds – 2 points
No response – 1 point
Motor Response

Obeys request- 6 points
Localizes pain – 5 points
Withdraws from painful stimuli – 4 points
Abnormal flexion- decorticate posture – 3 points
Abnormal extension- decerebrate posture – 2 points
No response – 1 point
Total score ranges from 3-15.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *